wrong wolf's ride

a motorcycle blog flipside

Testing Out Me SJCAM M20

I didn’t waste any time in getting my new action camera all charged up when I got home after work yesterday.  I was all excited-like in taking it out on a test ride.  Took a couple of hours to get it ready but fortunately I had some stuff to do so that worked out just fine; it was ready to go by the time I was finished.

I mounted my new camera on the handle bar of my Z1000R and went out for a ride.  Just a short evening ride, a couple or so kilometers to the Petron gasoline station where I hang out.  Here’s the test clip I took using the M20.   Compared with the test clip of pretty much the same ride I took a couple of evenings ago using my Pentax adventure camera, I must say the M20 did just fine.  For my purposes, it was pretty much on par with my adventure camera.  While the adventure camera appear to be little bit better at shooting video in low light settings, the M20 more than made up for it with its gyroscope function, producing a relatively more stable footage.  I was quite happy with it really and more than satisfied.

Here’s a few test clips I took with the M20, particularly to check and compare the file sizes the different resolution settings will produce:

Video quality wise, I was quite satisfied with any of them settings.  Heck, I’d even be satisfied with VGA setting if that was all I had to work with.  Heh.  After looking at their respective file sizes (and comparing them with the adventure camera clip, I decided that the 1080 at 30fps setting would be more than adequate for my purposes.  Yeah.  In any case,  I can always change the settings on the fly.

I noticed the M20 had a much wider field of vision than my adventure camera.  Well, the M20 was a wide angle action camera after all.  I decided to check out the narrow FOV setting and after mulling it around for a bit, I decided that I’d go with middle or medium FOV setting as my default.

Here’s a few pics I took using the M20.  Not bad.  Not at all.

From now on, I’ll be using the M20 as my action camera whenever I go out for a ride using Kawasaki Z250 SL or my Kawasaki Z1000R.  I’ll still be using my old action camera to take vids when I ride my Honda RS150; yeah, it was still working just fine and it’d be a waste not to uses  said action camera. As for my adventure camera, it’ll now serve as a back-up camera, as well as a general purpose camera for taking pics and videos.

wolf-StephensSmall

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2017 by in Chatterbox, Shooting the Breeze and tagged , , .

Navigation

Calendar

May 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 24,506 hits
