wrong wolf's ride

a motorcycle blog flipside

At Long Last! My Very Own Kawi Zed

Whelp!  I finally took the plunge and done went to the nearest Kawasaki Leisure Bikes, the one in Makati, and got me my very own Z1000.  In fact, I got the latest 2017 model and the limited edition at that, the Z1000R.  I figured I might as well shell out the extra money while I was at it, right?  Heh.  Right.  Yeah.

Woo-hoo!!!

Together with the cost of the bike insurance, I was one broke fellow indeed.  Well, not really.  True, my bike funds wallet was as empty as it could be but I still had some legal tender left to my petty cash wallet.  Thank goodness that payday was but a few days away when I purchased by new ride.  Whew.

As empty and aching my bike funds wallet was, I was all smiles you betcha.  Heh.  Grinning from ear to ear that the top of my head nearly fell off.  Ree-hee-hee-hee-hee-hee!!!  To say that I was elated and excited would be putting it mildly.  Why, I must have stared at my new baby while it was parked in front of my house for more than hour, almost two hours even.

The Z1000R Limited Edition got a few superbike-level trinkets over the standard Zed model:

  • Brembo front brakes
  • stainless steel braided brake lines
  • Ohlins rear suspension
  • revised ECU setting
  • electronic gear indicator

That was more than three weeks ago.  I recently took my new baby back to Kawasaki Leisure Bikes Makati to have a couple of accessories installed.

The lowering kit wasn’t as effective as I had hoped.  Turned out, the Ohlins rear suspension play was longer than the standard Zed’s rear suspension with the overall result that the lowering kit didn’t lower my baby all that much.  It only lowered her by a centimeter or so.  Sigh.

Still, I’ll take whatever I can get.  Curse these short legs of mine…..

wolf-StephensSmall

2 comments on “At Long Last! My Very Own Kawi Zed

  1. MyMotorWheels
    February 23, 2017

    Happy mile munching… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2017 by in My Baby and Me, Rides and Meet-ups, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Calendar

February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Blog Stats

  • 21,500 hits
