wrong wolf's ride

a motorcycle blog flipside

Royal Enfield — my dream bike

While I’m currently aiming for a scooter, most likely a Kymco Like 125, the Royal Enfield 500-cc motorcycle is my dream bike at the moment.  It’s a retro cruiser, built and styled after my own heart.  I fell in love with it the first time I saw it in an ad in Motorcycle Philippines.

This beauty has the following points going for it:

  • First and foremost, it’s available brand new flipside and at a relatively affordable price of around 350,000 bucks.
  • It’s a 500-cc bike so it’s quite legal on the expressway.  The displacement’s just right for city driving as well.
  • It’s a thumper.  Only one piston.  Some people might thumb their noses at that but for me, that’s a mother-effing plus.  Easy to maintain.  Easy to adjust.  Why, it’s just like a big underbone, that bike.  I reckon, any mechanic competent enough to properly service, say, a Honda XRM can service the bike should the need ever arises.
  • Dunno if it’s electronic or not but its fuel-injected so fuel-consumption would be quite good for a 500-cc bike, I reckon.  And it won’t be so picky fuel-wise cuz, you know, fuel-injected bikes automatically adjust themselves to the fuel octane and quality, right?
  • Best of all, it’s got a kick starter!  At least, I think it does cuz of the pictures I’ve seen.  Then again, I’ve also seen pictures showing the bike without a kick starter.  Worst case scenario though is that the kick starter comes as a bolt-on kit.  I think I’m fine with that.  I’ll just have to spend the extra for the kick starter.  Of course, I’m crossing my fingers that the kick starter comes standard on the models available flipside.

Of course, the Royal Enfield is not without its drawbacks.  I’m not so naive as to think it’s a perfect bike.

For instance, spare parts would be quite rare, to say the least.  Hard to find, expensive and all that.  There is only the one dealer after all.  It shouldn’t be all that bad though.  I hear there’s an international club of Royal Enfield owners one could join and rely on for parts and advice.  Still gonna be expensive though.  But that’s to be expected.  Big bike, big bike price, as they say.

And, as I have already mentioned, there is only one official dealer of Royal Enfield bikes and parts in the metro.  It’s located somewhere in Makati.

GF Dona Guadalupe Building
7462 Bagtikan St.
San Antonio Village
Makati City

If the shop’s still open in 2016 and I have the money for it, I’m definitely going to go for it.  Of course, this is all assuming that the Royal Enfield 500-cc bike is still my dream bike when 2016 comes around.  Nothing’s written in stone after all.

Some pics I got off the net.  So gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2012 by in Chatterbox, Shooting the Breeze and tagged , , .

Calendar

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 22,047 hits
