wrong wolf's ride

a motorcycle blog flipside

Honda CBR 150R

The first time I heard about the Honda CBR 150 coming out in the market flipside, I was intrigued.  Particularly at the price.  150,000.00 bucks.  That’s a thousand per cc.  And then I saw one on the road; I was really interested.  I must confess, if I had the money to spare back then, I would have seriously considered getting one.  That was around 3 years ago, if memory serves.

And then about a year ago, I saw a red one as I was passing through the intersection of EDSA and Taft Avenue.  A freakin’ red one, dude!  A RED ONE!!!  It was love at first sight, let me tells ya.  It was a new model to boot.  The Honda CBR 150R.  Not only did it come in red but it was also fuel-injected.  Why, if I had the money then, I would have rushed over to the nearest Honda dealer cash in hand right then and there.  Never mind that my baby was still relatively new and I didn’t really need another bike at the moment.  Such were my feelings for the bike back then.

From the Honda Philippines website:

  • Engine Type:  4 – Stroke, Double Over Head Cam (DOHC), Liquid Cooled
  • Displacement:  149.4 cc
  • Bore & Stroke:  63.5 mm x 47.2 mm
  • Starter:  Electric
  • Ignition System:  CCDT-EA
  • Transmission Type:  Constant Mesh 6-Speed
  • Gear System:  Down / UP
  • Suspension (Front):  Telescopic Fork
  • Suspension (Rear):  Mono Shock
  • Brake System (Front):  Hydraulic Ventilated Disk
  • Brake System (Rear):  Hydraulic Ventilated Disk
  • Combination Brake System:  N/A
  • Tires Size (Front):  100/80 – 17 M/C 52P (Tubeless)
  • Tires Size (Rear):  130/70 – 17 M/C 62P (Tubeless)
  • Wheels Type:  Alloy
  • Over-all Dimensions (LxWxH):  1,977 mm x 701 mm x 1,130 mm
  • Wheelbase Dimensions:  1,310 mm
  • Dry Weight:  127 kg
  • Seat Height:  797 mm
  • Ground Clearance:  190 mm
  • Fuel Tank Capacity:  13.1 Liters
  • Fuel:  Unleaded Gasoline
  • Fuel System:  PGM-FI
  • Engine Oil Capacity:  1 Liter
  • Automatic Headlight On (AHO):  Equipped
  • Parking Brake:  N/A
  • Key Lock:  N/A
  • Side Stand Switch:  N/A
  • Maximum Horse Power:  13.11 (17.8) @ 6,500 rpm
  • Maximum Torque:  12.66 @ 8,500 rpm

Needless to say, the CBR 150R shot up my list of prospective bikes for next ride.  This was, of course, before I had come to the decision that my next commuter will be a scooter.

It was only later that I discovered that the CBR 150R didn’t have a kick start.  It was an electric start only bike, which was a big turn-off.  Now some may disagree with me on this, but personally, I felt that a kick start was THE essential criterion when choosing a bike.  Think about it, dude.  Should your bike’s battery ever go kaput, you’d be stuck.  You’d have to resort to push starting your ride.  But with a kick start, you’re good to go, baby!

A kick starter’s just about the only advantage small-displacement bikes had over the big bikes, if you ask me.  Well, that and the facts that smaller bikes tended to have better mileage and were easier to filter through heavy traffic.

One comment on “Honda CBR 150R

  1. Agus
    December 23, 2012

    Handsome and beautiful once this CBR150R.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2012 by in Chatterbox, Shooting the Breeze and tagged , .

Calendar

July 2012
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 23,678 hits
