wrong wolf's ride

a motorcycle blog flipside

The Suzuki Raider R 150

A couple of years ago, back when I was choosing what my next ride will be, I almost went with my baby’s bigger sister, the Raider R 150.  That’s the model’s name flipside but I heard that the bike was called Satria in other countries.  I really liked the way the bike appeared and stood.  While its mileage wasn’t be as good as a decent 110-cc bike like my baby, its 150-cc displacement was just right for city driving.  Yeah.  An impressive little bike, to say the least.

ENGINE TYPE
TWINCAM 4 VALVE, 4 STROKE
BORE X STROKE 62.0 mm X 48.8 mm
DISPLACEMENT 147.3 cc
COMPRESSION RATIO 10.2:1
CARBURETOR BS 26-187
IGNITION DC – tCDI (DIGITAL)
STARTING ELECTRIC AND KICK
LUBRICATION SALCS (SUZUKI ADVANCED LUBRICATION & COOLING SYSTEM)
TRANSMISSION CLUTCH HYDRAULIC WITH MULTI LAYER
GEAR 6-SPEED CONSTANT MESH (1 – DOWN 5 – UP)
SUSPENSION FRONT TELESCOPIC, COIL SPRING, OIL DAMPED
REAR
SWINGARM WITH MONO SHOCK UP
TIRES FRONT 70/90 – 17 38P
REAR 80/90 – 17 44P
BRAKES/SIZES
FRONT DISC
REAR DISC
FUEL CAPACITY
4.9L
OVERALL LENGTH 1,940 mm
OVERALL WIDTH 652 mm
OVERALL HEIGHT 941 mm
WHEEL BASE 1280 mm
GROUND CLEARANCE 140 mm
BATTERY 12V 6Ah/10HR
DRY WEIGHT 106 kg

The pic file was taken from the Motorcycle Philippines site while the specs info was taken from the Suzuki Philippines site.

In the end, of course, I went with my baby, a Suzuki Raider J Pro 110.  There were a couple of things that ultimately made the decision for me: under-seat compartment and the gas tank capacity.  One of the advantages of underbone bikes over standard bikes was the utility box or the compartment under the seat.  Despite its displacement and pedigree, the Raider R 150 was still an underbone but it wouldn’t have any of that under-seat compartment nonsense.  Now that might be fine for some people but that was big no-no for me.

As for the gas tank, it was just dern small, gedemit!  It was only 4.9 liters.  I mean, considering the bike’s 150-cc displacement, the tank’s fuel capacity should be at least twice that.  Otherwise, you’d find yourself going to the gas station once a day.  Twice a day even depending on your travel distance.  Me, I commute 40 to 50 kilometers almost everyday of the work week and the Raider’s small gas tank would quite a disadvantage for me.

Too bad though.  I really liked the bike.

But not as much as my baby.  Oh, yeah!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2012 by in Chatterbox, Shooting the Breeze and tagged , , .

Calendar

July 2012
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 22,047 hits
